Hippie acid…glass hippie chick…

A hippie chick! I LOVE hippie girls. Just be how you are. I see the beauty in that. Some of my friends and family ask about make-up and dress up. And, to be honest I have nothing against it. I even admire girls that can do all of that.

I think about how I feel, more than I think about how I look.

With that said, many people are accusing this of being my self portrait. And, I think everyone assumes it is, maybe? At least the people that know me.

The first hippie chick I made was clay (1996). She is about 14″ tall. Then the rest of her is built to that scale. (she lives here in the garage. When I want to , I can go see what she is up to. (set tasks by her). (She is thinking about it…) I imagine planting Ivy from her head, and letting it grow into her hair. (Yet, another work in progress.)  The clay piece and this glass piece are sitting in the same position. Except the clay girl’s hands are on the ground, and she is playing with beads. (instead of the peace symbol) Oh! And, ironically the beads are as big as her, and even some are bigger than her.  Her passion was stronger than her kind-a thought…

I remember my professor looking at it, and looking at me, and saying, “Well, it’s your self portrait.”

I immediately insisted that it wasn’t. The truth, I just did not realize it while I was doing it. And then it made sense…;Honest. Weird.

This hippie chick is made with glass, and is dipped in acid, which creates a matte finish, and a funny co-wink-ee-dink!

enjoy!

Leave a Reply

